Medicare Benefits Policy Manual

Links to all Chapters and Crosswalks.

The Internet-only Manuals (IOMs) are a replica of the Agency’s official record copy. They are CMS’ program issuances, day-to-day operating instructions, policies, and procedures that are based on statutes, regulations, guidelines, models, and directives. The CMS program components, providers, contractors, Medicare Advantage organizations and state survey agencies use the IOMs to administer CMS programs.

Use the links below for direct access to these PDF files:

Chapter 1 – Inpatient Hospital Services Covered Under Part A [PDF]
Chapter 1 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 2 – Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Services [PDF]
Chapter 2 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 3 – Duration of Covered Inpatient Services [PDF]
Chapter 3 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 4 – Inpatient Psychiatric Benefit Days Reduction and Lifetime Limitation [PDF]
Chapter 4 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 5 – Lifetime Reserve Days [PDF]
Chapter 5 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 6 – Hospital Services Covered Under Part B [PDF]
Chapter 6 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 7 – Home Health Services [PDF]
Chapter 7 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 8 – Coverage of Extended Care (SNF) Services Under Hospital Insurance [PDF]
Chapter 8 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 9 – Coverage of Hospice Services Under Hospital Insurance [PDF]
Chapter 9 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 10 – Ambulance Services [PDF]
Chapter 10 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 11 – End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) [PDF]
Chapter 11 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 12 – Comprehensive Outpatient Rehabilitation Facility (CORF) Coverage [PDF]
Chapter 12 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 13 – Rural Health Clinic (RHC) and Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) Services [PDF]
Chapter 13 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 14 – Medical Devices [PDF]
Chapter 14 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 15 – Covered Medical and Other Health Services [PDF]
Chapter 15 Crosswalk [PDF]

Chapter 16 – General Exclusions from Coverage [PDF]
Chapter 16 Crosswalk [PDF]

Link to all CMS IOMs


Comments are closed.